

The Flaget Museum

Xaverian Hall St. Xavier High School Campus



Under the auspices of the Flaget Alumni Association

1942-1974

Contact Information

Cindy Chipps, Curator 4027 Brooks Hill Rd, Brooks, KY 40109 502 955-9238 cchipps@iccable.com

In an ongoing effort to compile as much information as possible on all facets of history as it relates to Flaget High School, the museum tackles a most elusive subject this month. The Flaget Hall of Fame.

Since I have only found written information for the period of time that the school was in existence, of course ending in May of 1974, the information I have is limited to that time period.

Ten years after the inception of Flaget, the Alumni association decided to start a hall of fame. In June of 1953 they discussed the matter in detail. At a meeting held on June 2nd of that year, rules for the hall were put into place and it was decided that a vote on the first inductees would be taken at the next meeting. That next meeting was held on July 7, of 1953 and a vote by the dues paying members in attendance, nominated, voted on, and inducted the first six members to the Flaget Hall of Fame. As was the custom with most schools of that era, the focus was on athletic achievements, which were made during a nominee's tenure at Flaget. Those elected were: Gus Bell '47, George Fischer '50, Joe McGrath '47, Bob Houk '50, Jack Richardson '49, and Frank Reynolds '49. At a February 2nd, 1954 meeting a five-man committee was appointed to nominate perspective members. Five people were nominated, Pud Becker, Toots Kern, Joe O'Brien, Howard Schnellenberger, and Bill Weutcher. The rules stated that they would need a 90% yes vote in order to be elected. When the votes were tallied only one nominee received the necessary vote, that being Howard Schnellenberger '52. It was also decided at this meeting that a new base for Geronimo would be made and the members of the hall of fame would be recognized with plaques affixed to that base. In January of 1955 a three-man committee was named to nominate people for the next hall of fame election. The vote was set for June of 1955. Twelve potential nominees were selected. They were John Noon, Jerry Harper, Paul Hornung, Sherill Sipes, Bill Wuetcher, Tom Becker, Toots Kern, Hooky Wohl, Carl Huber, John Lococo, Mike McGrath, and Bill Coyne. There is circumstantial evidence, although not conclusive, that Paul Hornung, John Noon, Jerry Harper, Bill Wuetcher, and Toots Kern received the necessary votes in this election to be included in the hall of fame. A short time later in 1955 the alumni association as constituted went dark and was not heard from again. After 1955 there is no mention of the hall of fame in any written form that I have been able to locate. I have limited my findings to what I can actually find in the written word. If anyone has anything that they would like to show or tell me in regards to this, I would be most appreciative.

A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO ALL THOSE WHO HAVE GIVEN SO GENEROUSLY TO THE MUSEUM. I AM SURE I SPEAK FOR ALL WHO HAVE VISITED THERE IN BEING SO GRATEFUL TO YOU FOR SHARING YOUR MEMENTOS WITH ALL THE FLAGET COMMUNITY.

AND AS ALWAYS, WE HAVE NEED FOR MORE FLAGET HISTORY. ESPECIALLY ATHLETIC PROGRAMS, <u>LANDMARK</u> NEWSPAPERS AND <u>ALUM NOTES</u>, THE NEWSPAPER OF THE FIRST ALUMNI ORGANIZATION.